At Drake's Command by David Wesley HillAt Drake's Command Published

New Novel about Sir Francis Drake Released on the 435th Anniversary of the Second Circumnavigation of the World

Posted: Nov 15, 2012

Buy on Amazon

Four hundred and thirty-five years ago today five small ships set forth from Plymouth harbor and sailed into history, completing the second circumnavigation of the globe and returning to England with the greatest pirate treasure in history.

About the Book

It was as fine a day to be whipped as any he'd ever seen but the good weather didn't make Peregrine James any happier with the situation he was in. Unfairly convicted of a crime he had not committed, the young cook was strung from the whipping post on the Plymouth quayside when he caught the eye of the charismatic sea captain Francis Drake, who agreed to accept Perry among his crew despite the stripes of a thief on his back.

Soon England was receding in their wake and Perry was serving an unsavory collection of sea dogs as the small fleet of fragile wood ships sailed across the deep brine. Their destination was secret, known to Drake alone. Few sailors believed the public avowal that the expedition was headed for Alexandria to trade in currants. Some men suspected Drake planned a raid across Panama to attack the Spanish in the Pacific. Others were sure the real plan was to round the Cape of Storms to break the Portuguese monopoly of the spice trade. The only thing Perry knew for certain was that they were bound for danger and that he must live by his wits if he were to survive serving at Drake's command.

What the Reviewers Are Saying

"I was privileged to receive an advanced copy of At Drake's Command, which tells the story of a young cook who joins an expedition under Francis Drake.... I highly recommend it."
—Reviewed by David Hayes in HistoricNavalFiction.com

"I really enjoyed reading this book. It is incredibly well written, and the subject matter is very interesting. It's a very quick read, and it's also historically educational. I'm also going to say that the ending caught me completely by surprise. I never saw it coming, and it blew my mind. The entire book was really good, but the ending just put it over the top."
Military Dad Blog

"The reader is treated to several wonderful characters--some historical, others fictional--in this opening chapter.... Whether a main character or a secondary character, Hill has given the reader excellent first impressions of them all. Finally, the ending of this chapter is outstanding. It will definitely encourage the reader to turn the page."
The Book Connection, First Chapter Review

"Hill is in good company with C.S. Forester and Patrick O'Brian"
Adventures of Maritime History

"A good historical read about a fascinating man!"
A Bookish Affair

"This is a beautiful, beautiful novel.... If you are fond of sea adventure or pirates ... this is a book that deserves your attention."
Half-Filled Attic

" ... this is an absorbingly faithful reconstruction of what it must have been like to serve on one of the great Elizabethan voyages. If you're an established fan of maritime historical fiction then I've no doubt there's much here for you to enjoy; and, for those of us who only dabble in the genre now and then, there's an endearing and resourceful hero, and moments when you suddenly understand how thrilling it must have been, to sail in a time when the land over the horizon genuinely was terra incognita."
The Idle woman

"It's English nautical history, but written for non-nautical types like me. I found it clever, entertaining, and never too difficult to understand. I don't know what that means for fans of C.S. Forester and Patrick O'Brien — I understand those books are for hard-core nautical history geeks. But if you're not entirely sure the difference between a fathom and a firkin, but you like a good story of exploration, adventure and piracy, this is a good book to check out."
The Book Stop

Release Date: November 15, 2012

Read First Chapter

Castaway on Temurlone
Now Available in Paperback!

Posted: Sep 1, 2011

Castaway on Temurlone by David Wesley Hill "Castaway on Temurlone is a delicious blend of the galactic everyday and the truly exotic."
James Gunn, author of Station in Space and The Immortals

Temurlone Press is proud to announce the publication in paperback of the rollicking science fiction space opera, Castaway on Temurlone, by David Wesley Hill, the first book of the Universe of Miracles trilogy.

Read More

Buy Paperback, Kindle, Nook

Email LinkEmail this Link

Upcoming from Temurlone Press

Posted: Feb 26, 2012

Racing September
By William DeSeta
Format: Trade Paper
Available: Summer 2012

In the lives of the fortunate, there is a period of time or a series of events that alter their perspective enough to expose them to the possibilities available in a world without limits. For teenager Danny Cerutti it was the summer of 1953, a time when teen-aged sex was non-existent and people lived out their lives in boring, self-proscribed boxes.

Danny Cerutti had grown up just across the Hudson River from New York. A tragic accident at his summer job leads him to a new job in Greenwich Village's Eighth Street Bookshop, gathering-place of the Beats, where his new friends have a decidedly different view of life.

His passionate affair with Kitty, a delicate and dazzling "older woman", is cut short when she accepts a Hollywood movie offer. Unwilling to let her slip away, he hitchhikes across the country, encountering an eclectic array of bizarre characters and discovering that there are more ways to live a life than ever was conceived in suburban Englewood.

Email LinkEmail this Link
 

David Wesley Hill Interviewed in Historic Naval Fiction

Posted: Sep 9, 2012

David Wesley Hill, author of At Drake's CommandTemurlone Press author David Wesley Hill was recently interviewed by Historic Naval Fiction. Click here to read the complete interview.

Read First Chapter of At Drake's Command

Buy on Amazon

New Release:
From The Bronx to Berchtesgaden

Posted: Jun 6, 2012

From the Bronx to Berchtesgaden by Murray SoskilWe're happy to announce the publication in trade paperback of From the Bronx to Berchtesgaden, The Combat Memoir of a World War II Hero, by Murray Soskil. Mr. Soskil is the recipient of two Silver Stars, a Bronze Star, and six Battle Stars for service in southern France and Germany with the 3rd Infantry Division. As a dogface soldier, he fought in some of the most bitter battles of the war, liberated two concentration camps, and captured Hitler's private mountain retreat in Berchtesgaden (Band of Brothers had the facts wrong here). His memoir is testimony to the bravery of American servicemen in the face of evil.

Read More

Buy Trade Paperback

Email LinkEmail this Link